Hi, Gene Zweben from Zweben Law Group here to give you a little bit of information about what to do after a car accident and how the liability coverage works meaning how are you going to get paid for your injuries. In Florida, there is no requirement that the person driving has liability coverage or bodily injury coverage. However, most insurance companies do write policies that have that liability coverage. In Florida, on your policy, it’s called bodily injury, and if you look at your policy you’ll see that bodily injury can come in all different amounts. $10,000/$20,000, $25,000/$50,000, $100,000/$300,000, and what that means is the first number is the amount of money available from the at-fault party to pay you for your injuries and pain and suffering. The second number is the total amount involved in the whole accident. If there is one or two people involved in an accident and a $10,000/$20,000 policy each person should have a maximum amount of $10,000 to recover against the other party, the at-fault party. If however there were more than 2 people in the accident and it was a $10,000/$20,000 policy then the maximum amount for the whole accident would be $20,000. That would have to get split between the people that were injured or not at fault for the accident. It is very important to carry bodily injury insurance to protect yourself if you are at fault for an accident, but that is also the pool of money that you pursue to get reimbursed for your pain and suffering and your injuries if the other person is at fault. Hopefully, this gave you a little bit of information about bodily injury and liability coverage here in Florida. If you have any other questions please feel free to give us a call. Thank you!