Hit-and-run accidents are accidents after which the offending driver flees the scene without fulfilling legal duties, such as informing the police or helping any injured persons. Florida statutes define hit-and-run as a criminal offense with potentially severe penalties.
Almost 25% of all car accidents in Florida are hit-and-runs. In 2021, over 300 hit-and-run accidents in Florida resulted in fatalities.
Read on as our legal team at Zweben Law Group, personal injury attorneys in Stuart, Florida, explains key Florida hit-and-run laws and lists the steps hit-and-run accident victims should take.
What Florida Law Requires of Drivers Involved in a Car Crash
Leaving the scene after a car crash in Florida is illegal and may lead to criminal charges. After an accident, the motorist must:
- Call the police and 911
- Extend any reasonable help to victims
- Share their name, address, driver’s license, and vehicle registration number with the party that sustained injuries or property damage
- Remain at the scene until the police arrive if the accident led to significant property damage or injuries
Drivers convicted of a hit-and-run offense may face serious penalties under Florida hit & run laws. If the accident caused injuries, the offender may face third- or second-degree felony charges and up to five years in prison. Fatal accidents may result in a first-degree felony conviction and up to 30 years in prison for the offender.
What Victims of Florida Hit & Run Accidents Should Do
After a hit-and-run accident, it’s often hard to think straight or plan your legal steps. If you are a hit-and-run victim, you should:
- Get medical care or at least a check-up, even if you don’t think your injuries are serious
- Inform the police of the accident and share any details that may help them find the offending driver
- Take multiple pictures of the accident scene
- Gather the contact information of any eyewitnesses
- Talk to a personal injury lawyer
How a Personal Injury Attorney Can Help After a Hit-and-Run Accident
A skilled personal injury lawyer can provide reliable legal advice and fight for compensation on your behalf after a hit-and-run accident. Specifically, your attorney may:
- Help you prove fault if you decide to file a civil lawsuit against the offending driver
- Gather and present supporting evidence, like medical records and eyewitness statements
- Communicate with your insurance company and facilitate the insurance claim process
- Seek punitive damages for the offender’s unlawful conduct
- Negotiate a settlement with the responsible party or represent you in court
Zweben Law Group: Stuart, Florida, Personal Injury Lawyers That Protect Your Rights
If you or a loved one suffered injuries in a hit-and-run accident, contact us at Zweben Law Group, car accident lawyers with over 25 years of experience representing personal injury and wrongful death cases. Our dedicated legal team will inform you of your options under Florida hit & run laws, help you present a powerful case, and maximize your chances of recovering compensation.
For a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer in Stuart, Florida, call us at 772-223-5454. You only pay when we win.