Hi, Gene Zweben from Zweben Law Group here to give you a little information on what to do after a car accident and who pays for your property damage, who pays to fix your car.
Typically in Florida, both parties should have insurance to cover your car. On your policy it’s called collision on the other person’s policy who is at fault for the accident it’s called property damage. In Florida, it’s required to have a minimum of $10,000 in property damage.
So if you weren’t at fault for an accident the other person should have $10,000 to pay to either fix your car or to pay you for your car if your car is totaled. Hopefully, they have more depending upon the amount of damage done to your car.
If they don’t have that insurance for whatever reason or they don’t have enough insurance you can purchase what is called collision on your own policy to take care of the difference or to take care of your car totally if the other side doesn’t have that property damage like they should. So hopefully this gave you a little bit of information about how your car damage gets paid after an accident but if you have any other questions. Feel free to contact us, thank you.